Eduardo du Ankle

Not as much news today after the colour of the first Premier League game.

I really must say I cant stop watching Hleb’s goal. It’s more than likely the commentary that goes along with it: “Last few seconds of normal time, but there’s gonna be a lot to add on… oh, it’s a great ball in from Fabregas to Hleb..!! Surely..! Yes! Alex Hleb!!! Arsenal lead 2-1! Theyve turned it around here!“…bonafide football hooligan, I know.

Major news is Eduardo’s race against time to be fit for the Sparta Prague game, his ankle being rather tender at the moment. He’s rated at 50-50 to make the match, but I see it as an opportunity to hone a 4-5-1 Euro formation, here. Hleb is playing amazingly at the moment as a support striker (who’d have thought, honestly?), which offers amazing versatility to the side, with Eboue and Rosicky as wingers, and Hleb able to shift to either positions if one gets subbed for another striker like Bendtner. Eduardo can take his time to get back to fitness – Adebayor’s been previously cited as a return for Blackburn, so the return of two strikers for that particular match could give some nice pep if we need it up north.

We’re being linked Morten Gamst-Pedersen, but I cannot find a reputable source anywhere for the life of me. In the realms of fantasy, I think – though I’d be happy to be wrong. I have it on good authority that we’ll be signing a new ballboy, but I cannot reveal my sources for fear of scuppering the deal.

Other than that, really not much else. Arsenal.com does the rounds with player-loan reports (I was interested at first thinking Merida and Vela might get mentioned, but not yet), Banfield shares his views on the club’s youth development, and there’s a mention on Sparta Prague’s latest fortunes – we really should overcome them by a bloody good margin to relieve the fixture demands.

All for today. Enjoy watching that goal over and over again like I do. “YES! ALEX HLEB!”. Let the love-in commence.

2 Comments

Filed under Blogging

2 responses to “Eduardo du Ankle

  1. TonyB

    In fairness to the guy, Hleb never has been a winger. If I recall correctly, when we bought him he was playing support role to the main striker, rather than an orthodox winger.

    I see him (now don’t laugh) as a Maradona/Ronaldinho type. By that, I mean that in order for him to be most effective, you have to get him in the areas where it’s gonna hurt the opposition most – ie. in and around the penalty box. You are more likely to get a penalty if you are running/dribbling straight in on goal, rather than approaching it from the byline too.

    I’m looking forward to a season of seeing him wriggling and dribbling his way into the area, with the opposition defenders sh*t scared of tackling him. From there, he can either have a pop himself or lay it off to v. Persie/Eduardo/Ade/whoever.

    He was much maligned last season, but I see an incredibly talented player.

  2. Old Timer

    I agree with you Tonyb, I have found given the time Hleb always puts efforts into every game and I think now we will see him really shine. Bit worried about the ankle problem with Eduardo, and the apparent loss of any indication what is happening with Diaby.