Lehmann takes on the Sun God

Good morning all.

Jens Lehmann has come out with an ego bruised this morning, saying Manuel Almunia ‘doesn’t deserve’ the keeper’s spot on the team.

I am without a doubt mentally the strongest player at Arsenal because I have more experience, there will always be a keeper who will play better for two or three matches but I have never seen anyone do this for ten games. I know that I have an advantage at Arsenal and that I can keep it. I don’t see any young supermen keeping me out.

He always was a balmy one. Frankly, Almunia has not set a foot wrong to date this season, and has every reason to start against Tottenham come Saturday. Wenger himself has said that if Lehmann were to walk straight back into the team, it would be a decision based on name alone, and not on form, and this would be both unfair to Almunia and questioning of motivation in the team throughout. You’re going to have to wait a little longer, Jens.

Keith Edelman has spoken out against ‘sugardaddy’ investment, saying all clubs, even Chelsea, need to break even at some point. And that’s all that needs to be said – the point is evident, the big investment only lasts four or five seasons, after which we’re back to the beginning that Arsenal are undergoing anyway. Whoop di doo.

Finally, Wenger has spoken (yet again) about the trust he has in the current board, saying:

When I first arrived many people talked badly about me and I never had the feeling that there was any lack of trust or support from the board. I have never felt disappointed on that front.

Three cheers. Not that much news floating around today. So far, the injury tally is at an acceptable ‘nil’, fingers crossed it stays that way.

Au’voir for now.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Blogging

One response to “Lehmann takes on the Sun God

  1. when will they replace jens??? maybe when he turns 40 in a yr or two … haha

    ___________
    http://www.insearchoffootball.ipbfree.com